Alhambra Civic Center Library

Your Starting Place

Children

Available during the Library closure, Abdo Primary has ebooks for grades PreK-6.  Begnning readers, picture books, chapter books and more--all available digitally.  Username: abdo-elementary  Password: 072020
Available during the Library closure, Abdo Digital Bookshelf for grades 5-12 offers chapter books, graphic novels, fiction, nonfiction, and YA titles all available digitally.  Username: abdo-secondary Password: 072020
Available during the Library closure, Abdo Zoom has online research for beginning readers.  Learn about animals, people, places, and more! User Name: abdo-zoom Password: 072020
Available during the Library closure, Audiobook Cloud is an all ages online audio book library collection with unlimited streaming access.  Nothing to download or install, no holds or waiting periods.  Just click and listen!
Check out and read e-books using your library card for free without leaving home.
Estudiantes! Busca biografícas e información sobre lugares y cosas. Mira los videos y animaciones para aprender más. Encuentra respuestas rápdias y auda con la tarea. Descubre mapas, fotos e ilustraciones para proyectos escolares.  Y mucho más! 
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities.  It offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases for Elementary, Middle, and High School students.
Explora Primary School helps elementary school children find database information for reports and research. Simple search functions and high quality articles help K-8 students find database information. Easy-to-browse categories, topic overviews, and short videos provide information that you can use at home or on the go with the mobile-friendly design. 
Explora Secondary School helps middle school and high school students with reports and research. Simple search functions and high quality articles help students in grades 9-12 find database information. Easy-to-browse categories, topic overviews, and short videos provide information that you can use at home or on the go with the mobile-friendly design. 
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine service that allows people to browse high quality digital versions of the latest issues of popular magazines.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia is a general encyclopedia covering a wide variety of topics. 
Available during the Library closure, Gale in Context: Elementary introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
Available during the Library closure, Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more for students in middle grades.
Hoopla Digital offers eBooks, audiobooks, comics, movies and television shows--all available on your computer, tablet, eReader, or mobile device.  You can download up to 10 items per month.    Download the Hoopla Digital app from your device's app store or visit the Hoopla Digital page to create your account.  Register using your library card and e-mail address. Questions?  Check out the Hoopla FAQ page to help you get started or their video support channel to find answers! 
LearningExpress Library features online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.
Available during the Library closure, Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children ages three to six to key concepts in math, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It’s as challenging as it is fun!
Read popular books online about the Missions of California using Follett's digital reader. The user name and password are both "Missions".
Primary Search is designed for the elementary school students and provides full-text access to more than 50 popular magazines dating back to 1990.  Lexile reading levels are also included.
An online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related non-fiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.
The resources in the School Center provide skill-building for classroom and homework success. The school center helps students in elementary, middle, and high school prepare for important tests, get extra help with assignments, and boost their skills in important subjects.
TeachingBooks.net provides a suite of instructional resources including multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audiobook readings, author videos, book discussion guides and lesson plans for over 40,000 books in English and Spanish. To log in, use these credentials: User name: alhambra Password: teachingbooksK12library
An online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music, and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
Available during the Library emergency closure, TumbleMath is a K-6 math ebook database with activities, quizzes, and more.